Chicago, Chicago, That Toddlin’ Town . . .

I guess that title will tell some of you how old I am and others will wonder what the heck a “toddlin’ town” is. If you’re curious check this out. In addition to New York, Sinatra sang about Chicago.

2014-07-06 11.51.50The Windy City was the first stop in the “My Health. My Body. My Voice. . .Learning to Live Summer Book Tour.”  Her appearance at the International Museum of Surgical Science on July 5th was very well received. She did a fantastic job and the audience was interested and enthusiastic. The museum was fascinating–lots of interesting historical information and displays about medicine.

We arrived in Chicago in time for the Fourth of July weekend, so we had the time to look around and see some of the sights.

2014-07-06 13.39.10-1 2014-07-06 13.42.34-2  2014-07-06 13.42.34-1

2014-07-03 20.37.34One of the real highlights of the trip was having dinner at Graham Elliot Bistro. Cristy is a huge fan of Master Chef and she and Graham have been Twitter friends for some time. We were excited about going to the Bistro and Graham was the consummate host. And the food! You can’t beat it. There’s no doubt he is one of the best.

2014-07-07 12.29.26

Never saw one of these before, but I’ve discovered they are in many cities across the country: Sprinkles’. Cupcake ATMs. That’s right. You can buy a cupcake at an ATM designed especially to dispense cupcakes. They offer a variety of freshly baked cupcakes. Just slide your credit card, select a flavor (even one for Fido) and the machine goes to work and dispenses a delicious cupcake.

Chicago was definitely a fun city.

Visit the 5 STEPS Advocate website for more information on our programs and offerings.

About Sharon

**Writing, both personal and professional, has always been an important aspect of my life. **Personally, whether I write from experience or invent fictional characters, I learn so much about myself. Writing has always helped me understand and deal with important events and issues in my life. The blog, "Boxelders and Blackberries" serves this purpose. **My "gravatar" is a boxelder tree, which I hope provides a way to bring together my personal and professional writing. The boxelder tree branches into multiple trunks, each representing a different direction my life and career has taken.
This entry was posted in 5 STEPS Advocate, autoimmune disorders, Cristy Kessler and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

