OMG! My Blog is Becoming Political Because Donald Trump is an Idiot!!

I had hoped to keep this blog about writing and memoir and stuff, but I’m sorry, there’s just too much that deserves commentary. So here I am, once again responding to the news cycle.

Donald Trump, moneyed  idiot extraordinaire, has brought us to this.  His “birther” attack on the president is best explored by Baratunde Thurston, The Onion, with this video response (and, for those of you familiar with the Onion, believe me there is no Onion joke here). In his blog, Mr. Thurston explains his impetus for composing this video. Having heard that the president would release his long form birth certificate today, he said, “tears in my eyes, pain in my heart and rage in my soul, I composed this video message. More than written text, it comes close to expressing my full pain at witnessing a white man who was handed everything call the President of the United States (and me) a nigger.”

Thurston goes on to say that “It was during my viewing of [Trump’s triumphant] video that I began to cry. I thought of my ancestors, both direct and collective, who had fought and died so that I might be treated as an American. I then thought of this fetid, smug, hate-filled, wealthy white man taking credit for the release and yet still not being satisfied. It does not matter how long we’ve been in these United States. We will never be American.”

Thank you, Mr. Thurston, for your thoughts today. I am deeply sorry for the pain that today’s events brought you. Please know that he does not represent all Americans. We can only hope that good sense, and an awareness of what your ancestors accomplished for all of us, will finally prevail. My freedom is predicated on your own; together we are Americans.

About Sharon

**Writing, both personal and professional, has always been an important aspect of my life. **Personally, whether I write from experience or invent fictional characters, I learn so much about myself. Writing has always helped me understand and deal with important events and issues in my life. The blog, "Boxelders and Blackberries" serves this purpose. **My "gravatar" is a boxelder tree, which I hope provides a way to bring together my personal and professional writing. The boxelder tree branches into multiple trunks, each representing a different direction my life and career has taken.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

