Cristy in Istanbul for Stem Cell Transplant

A bone marrow harvest.

Image via Wikipedia

An update on Cristy–my friend spoken of in the last blog post:

She and her partner Liz are now in Istanbul, Turkey, at Anadolu Hospital where Cristy is undergoing preparatory treatment for the stem cell transplant that will be done shortly. The preparation for the extraction of her bone marrow with its treasure of stem cells is excruciating, but she is hanging tough and getting through it. Anadolu is associated with Johns Hopkins Hospital and has a state-of-the-art transplant center.

You can read about her progress on Liz’s blog and you can help us with the much needed money to pay for the transplant at the One of Our Own website. Please send prayers her way.

About Sharon

**Writing, both personal and professional, has always been an important aspect of my life. **Personally, whether I write from experience or invent fictional characters, I learn so much about myself. Writing has always helped me understand and deal with important events and issues in my life. The blog, "Boxelders and Blackberries" serves this purpose. **My "gravatar" is a boxelder tree, which I hope provides a way to bring together my personal and professional writing. The boxelder tree branches into multiple trunks, each representing a different direction my life and career has taken.
This entry was posted in autoimmune disorders, Cristy Kessler and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

